About Bayville, Maine

 

Bayville, Maine is a quiet, picturesque little village on Linekin Bay which celebrated its 100th birthday in 2011. With just 40-some odd homes and its own post office, Bayville maintains its small town Downeast charm and character dating back over 100 years.

The central structure in Bayville.s history is the Bayville Inn, built on the hill overlooking Linekin Bay in 1907. The town has its own community center and community dock, where residents and visitors alike keep up to a dozen rowboats and dories tied up during the summer months.

Larger motor yachts and sail boats are often moored just a few dozen yards away, providing quick access to fishing, lobstering and exploring the coast.

about-bayville-maine

About Boothbay Harbor Maine

The Downeast Boothbay Harbor region was first settled by the British, who established a fishing station on Cape Newagen in 1623. Throughout its early history, the area was occasionally settled by different inhabitants until Colonel David Dunbar established the town of Townsend in 1730 and about 40 families of Scots-Irish descent settled here permanently. The town was incorporated in 1764 and renamed Boothbay in 1842, after the hamlet of Boothby in Lincolnshire, England.

Today the town of Boothbay Harbor has approximately 2500 full-time residents. Many more part-time residents and visitors come to enjoy the town.s restaurants, shops, galleries, boating and whale watching tours in the warmer summer months, when average high temperatures range between 65 and 79 degrees Fahrenheit.

Renowned for its natural beauty and charm, the Boothbay Region been a favorite destination of tourists, newlyweds and travelers from all over the world for over a hundred years. For more information about the area.s history and many attractions, please visit the following links:

boothbay-harbour